Enneagram is a diagram of a circles consisting of crossing lines that connect nine points. Enneagram is a linkage between Eastern spirituality and Western psychology. In the current days, generally Enneagram is used for self-discovery, understanding personal types and different communicating patterns.

Ennea stands for nine in Greek and gram stands for drawing. 

Below are the different personality types according to Enneagram:

  1. One – The Worker.
    A focused, hard working, intense perfectionist. They measure everything, particularly about themselves and their performances, with perfectionism. People belonging to this type are perfectionists, and they need to let go of the outcomes and be satisfied with what they have. Spirituality may get in touch with the out-of-control side of their personality.
  2. Two – The Helper
    An empathetic, sympathetic one with a sense of sensitivity on others’ needs. This type places others’ needs above their personal needs. This type puts others first before themselves. Spirituality would get in touch with their own needs, of which they neglect. They need to learn meeting their needs directly.
  3. Three – The Motivator
    A work-oriented, goal-oriented, active one. This type would use abilities to look through lives of others and learn to achieve their own success. They are generally optimistic- they will try to avoid negative people. They are optimistic and hard working. For spirituality, they have to spend some time slowing down what they are doing, instead enjoying some relaxing and beautiful moments of life.
  4. Four – The Individualist
    A self-absorbed, over-analyzed one. This type is emotionally sensitive, which is both of good and bad. The good is, they are able to project their sensitivity into creativity. The bad is, they take everything too personally, which affects them most of the time. They are emotionally sensitive. They can simply feel the pain of living, with their own judgment through their feelings. They will find spirituality means letting go of the pain.
  5. Five – The Observer
    A non-committed, reserved loner. They often find things that they only have interest in to do. Their main desire is to seek knowledge and transform it to wisdom. They are the withdrawn type, which means they love to stay inside of their thinking world. For spirituality, they must learn to get out of being themselves and see the world outside.
  6. Six – The Networker
    A responsible, reassurance-seeking, secure-finding moralist. This type desires personal contact and affirmation on what they do. They also have deep needs for group relationships. They are often energetic and lively. They are mostly fearful or easily nervous. Spirituality involves them learning to control their minds instead of letting the mind control them.
  7. Seven – The Visionary
    An analytical, entertaining, fun-loving idealist. This type particularly enjoys life, and is easily distracted by new interests. They find it hard to follow practical plans and ideas. They like to keep themselves busy. For their spiritual needs, they have to slow down their pace for everything, control their overactive energy and pay more attention to their feelings.
  8. Eight – The Activator
    A competitive, passionate, vital one. This type generally deals directly with most situations. They are not easy to admit their wrongs, whereas prefer to make a stand. They are competitive, headstrong ones. They have to learn to express their physical energy in a less confronting way for their spiritual needs. They have to seek more of their tender side.
  9. Nine – The Universalist
    An easy-going, unaffected emotionally, peaceful one. This type is mostly respected by others, and is socially friendly. They can solve problems for others, and stay calm to handle situations. This type of person is generally a peacemaker. Spirituality will get in touch with their repressed anger, thus, they must find healthy ways to deal with it.

These nine types are then split into group of threes, which are centers of intelligence. The groups are instinctual or gut center (8- 9-1), emotional or heart center (2-3-4), and mental or thinking center (5-6-7). Gut center is based on body, which means he/she has desires to take action. Heart center is based on feelings, of which focus on others’ needs and attempt to affect others positively. Thinking center is based on thoughts, which focus on the insight world of ideas. 

Another Enneagram type comes in each Enneagram type on both sides. This type happens because not everyone has distinctive Enneagram types. Some people may have traits of both. This type is also known as “wings”. However, one wing may be dominant over the other, expressing its traits more than the adjacent one.
There are intersecting lines of connection which are also known as stress points or security points. This occurs as each Enneagram type connects to two other types by lines of connection. These intersecting lines represent how each type works socially.
Enneagram is a new approach for leadership development, personal emotional intelligence (EQ) and communication skills. Enneagram gives us a clearer way of viewing ourselves, our personality as well as ways we handle situations. It puts a stop to our own assumptions about ourselves. Enneagram is now widely used in business industries, psychotherapy and for spirituality use.

Direct your energies to where they are needed. If you live consciously, you will use your time wisely and channel your energies well to create something new or plan for your future, rather than just spend time on unnecessary stress and worries. Avoid robotic reactions. When something bothers you, you will pay attention to your thoughts and emotions, and react accordingly. You will not react in such a way to protect your ego, as our mind does.

Make peace with people and nature. When you find peace in yourself, you will also be able to generate it externally. You will find that there is a need to love and feel for others. In this way, you are more sensitive towards others’ feelings.

Embrace fear. When you face difficulties or terrifying situations, instead of trying to avoid them, you will find a solution or ways to resolve the problems with consciousness. Hence, you are able to handle it better the next time it happens again. Appreciate life as it is. Our misconceptions about life, environment or people around cause us not to enjoy life with fullness. See the world around you with love and peace, soon you will find that beauty lies within everything you get in touch with.

Discover your true self. Being conscious causes you to understand everything that defines you currently is all the works of your mind. You will no longer limit yourself to your shortcomings, background, or environment that surrounds you.